Tags

, , ,

This summer I have read some amazing books.  I have mostly been reading books that have been set in  England.  I guess I was trying to continue my fascination with Downton Abbey.

I have certain authors I just cannot wait until their next book comes out!  Khalid Hosseini is one of those such authors.  I have read both of his books.  I could not wait for this book to come out.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I could not put this book down.  Mr. Hosseini makes the words sing off the page.  He is a fabulous storyteller.  This book did not disappoint.  He caught me on the first page.  The two main characters, Pari and Abdullah were woven throughout this story.  Their lives became real to me.  Mr. Hosseini used the secondary characters to tell the story of these two siblings growing up in Afghanistan.  Each character introduced sheds light not only on Pari or Abdullah, but on did different view of history.  The story was very engrossing and made you think.  I love books like that.

The title of the book is so appropriate.  The irony of the echoes will be seen from the beginning to the end of the story.  Humanity comes into question and the understanding of making a better life for oneself is investigated.  To make that better life, what do you have to compromise?

I have walked away from this book in awe and with questions.  Isn’t that the way a book is suppose to leave you?

As I said at the beginning, I could not put this book down.  I just love a thought provoking tell!