Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Old European elegance will be what I think about when I recall our trip to Madrid. It was regal.  It was sophisticated.  It was just amazing!

The weather was nothing to write home about… It rained the entire time.  I guess that is what umbrellas are made for.  The weather did not hinder us in the least.  We saw everything we had planned on.

The first day and a half we spent at three of the best art museums you want to visit, the Prado, Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza, and the Museo Nacional de Arte Reina Sofia.  We saw art that we are still talking about.  Years ago I read a book about the battle of Guernica.  In my eagerness to learn more, I found out that Picasso depicted the battle.  I finally saw that masterpiece.  I stood in the room just studying each part of it for more that thirty minutes.  We had the privilege to experience Miro, Goya, Dali, more of Picasso, and so many more.  We thought going in that we would have loved the Prado the best.  However, our favorite was the Thyssen-Bornemisza.  One thing that I wanted was to really view Dali.  Not to understand, but to appreciate.  I did that.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The entrance into the Prado.  Please keep in mind the weather!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

An amazing building right by the Prado.

Our favorite part of traveling is getting to know a city.  We do that by walking.  We do a lot of walking on our trips.  Most of time over 13 miles a day.  We just take everything in.  Madrid had fabulous architecture.  I could not get enough of it.  It seemed like every few minutes I was stopping and taking a picture.  In fact, I took over 200 pictures of just buildings.  I am just going to show you a fraction of those!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This last picture is my absolute favorite.

Beautiful city!  I cannot wait to show more tomorrow.  Part 2 will be devoted to nightlife!

