Tags

, , , , ,

Remember last week when I shared the cookbooks Hubby surprised me with?  Well this weekend I took one of them on a test drive!  Oh it was so much fun!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

First off, the book is just beautiful.  Here is what I mean.  I just had to take some pictures of the inside.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The layout is bright and festive.  It is just screaming, “Come cook with me!”  I am a visual person.  I like lots of pictures in cookbooks.  I want to know what the dish is suppose to look like.  If I get close, I feel like I won.  I also like to see how they present the food.  Presentation is everything!  One of the lovely things about Mediterranean cuisine is the colors.  Each dish is a work of art in more ways than one.  For those of us that had a difficult time doing a paint by number project, this is how I get my creative juices flying.

The first dish I made was Cinnamon Braised Beef Tajini.  I sautéed bell peppers and mushrooms in a truffle olive oil for some color. Finally, I topped it off with a generous sprinkle of cilantro.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It was amazing.  The favors blended well together.  I was so proud of myself.

With the second try, I thought breakfast.  I made the Fried Sweet Potato Omelet.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Oh, we enjoyed ourselves with this meal.  I would have never thought sweet potatoes for breakfast.  Boy, I will now.

I cannot wait to dig into it some more.  It’s a wonder that we are so delighted with food.  I know it is because I have so much fun cooking it!

 

