Tags

,

We are reaching the end of Fall.   I, like many others, have used pumpkins as part of making our home more inviting over the past months.  Now that we are about to pull out all things red and green, we have a pumpkin dilemma!

A few years ago, it dawned on me instead of tossing the lovely pumpkins into the compost bin and buying canned unusually orange pumpkin, I could give the ones I already bought a second life.  Yes, I am a little slow sometimes!

I looked up how to purée pumpkins.  The first year I did it, Hubby said it looked like something from Fargo.  Every since then, the weekend before Thanksgiving I gather all pumpkins and chop, purée, and freeze for upcoming soups, muffins, pies, and smoothies.

For some reason I love this weekend.  I love knowing that we enjoyed looking at them for over a month and now we are going to enjoy eating them over the Winter.  No waste!

 

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Nice selection.  I still love the beautiful colors of nature!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

After going thru the food processor….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

These are resting in my freezer.  I ended up with more pumpkin purée than last year.  Now, we are set.  I’m thinking pumpkin soup is in our near future!

Happy Thanksgiving week everyone!

 

 

