Tags

, , ,

Just love long weekends.  Having the time to play and explore is always fun.

Hubby and I spent the long weekend in the beautiful city of Prague.  This was a very personal trip for me.  As a young military spouse in the mid 90s, I was fortunate enough to spend some time in the Czech Republic.  This is where I fell in love with china and began to define my style.  I would get up way before the crack of dawn and hop on a bus and go shopping all day then get back to base about midnight. The first time I went I literally came back with one crystal vase.  It was overwhelming!  Plus I needed to really think about what I really wanted.  Once I figured that out, I was on a mission.

Fast forward to now,  we were not there to shop but there to be tourist.  Yes we did do some shopping!  Prague is a beautiful city.  Our favorite part was just strolling the streets.  The town that inspired the writing of Kakfa and the art of Alphonse Mucha did not disappoint.

Today, I going to share our time in the Jewish Quarter.  We both love history.  We arrived in Prague mid morning  on Saturday.  Instead of spending time standing in line at the castle, we decide to hit the Jewish Quarter and get to the castle grounds early Sunday morning.

The Jewish quarter is tucked away from the hubbub of the city.  It is quaint, quiet, and eeriely beautiful.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We were treated to a lesson of the burial procedures in the museum.  The walls of the museum were covered with the names of people who were buried in the so to be seen graveyard.  A lot of names.

The graveyard itself was peaceful.  Hubby asked what graveyard isn’t.  I agree, but this one was a little different.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

When the city of Prague gave the land to the Jews, they already knew they did not have enough room.  Some were buried into walls as you see above.  Some of the grave stones are on the ground or pretty close.  The age of the headstones was evident.  You have to wonder if they ever thought hundreds of years later, if people from all over the world would be walking around looking at their last place on earth?

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Last photo today.  Here is a view that over looks the headstones.  Beautiful architecture.

This was our first stop.  A sobering one, but one that was on the list.

Tomorrow, I will share the castle and the amazing sights around that part of the city.

Happy Tuesday.

