Tags

, ,

Every since we moved in to our ‘new’ quarters, I have been stressing about the kitchen.   We spend a lot of time there.  I truly believe it is the heart of a house.  When we look for a house that is the first thing I look at. This time it was a little different.  There were other details about this house that outweighed the kitchen issue.

As with all things decorating, I do a lot of thinking, planning, and looking before I just go and ‘do something’.  The main problem with the kitchen is the lack of counter space… prep space.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This is it.  I did develop a system of cooking in segments.  Constantly rotating tasks through this space.  I knew what I wanted was an island or a possible island.  I also needed some storage space.  I currently have all food downstairs in a room turned into a pantry.  It is the ultimate walk in pantry!  All the cabinets are filled with dishes.  Yep, a lot of dishes!

Enter a dilemma….

This is not my house.  Everything I buy I have to think ahead to what Hubby and I call our forever home.  The one that we will purchase when we move back to the states.

What I wanted was something that looked like this…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This a Buffet table that we have had for a number of years.   I loved the bottom shelf for open storage.  This what I wanted.  I have been looking for months.  We have found possibilities, but there was always something I did not like.

A couple of weekends ago, we went to an antique fair.  Hubby just goes because he knows I like to look.  However this time it was a little different.  Hubby walked in and looked around and started walking to  a beautiful piece.  I followed because Hubby does not usually do that.  I wanted to see what he found.  What he found was the solution to our kitchen problem!

He found an absolutely amazing 19th century English sideboard.  He said in his casual way…what do you think.  I agreed with him it was amazing but it was to big for the kitchen.  (Picture a lightbulb going off here!). I then started thinking… We have or I have been looking at this all wrong!

I was looking for a perfect piece that I already had to solve my problem.  We decided that we would trade the buffet table for the sideboard. Bingo, problem solved.  Easy.  We went and purchased the sideboard!  More on that tomorrow!

This weekend our sideboard was delivered and we moved things around!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Perfection!  I have storage for my bowls.  I moved them out of the cabinet and move food in.  What a thought, food in a kitchen!  Of course, I had to add things to the top!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I now have my cutting boards easily accessible.  I also have a bowl of onions, garlic, and peppers out and ready to be used.  Yes, I had to add some Fall touches with the pumpkin tile and wood pumpkins!   I do still have space to prep for meals.

I am so happy with the results.  Now Hubby and I can cook in the same space without getting in each other’s way.

Stay tuned tomorrow to see our new sideboard.  It is a beauty!

