Tags

, , ,

Each week  I take all my extra change and put it in a jar.  It is labelled Flea.  It is amazing how much you have when it is full!

When it is about three fourths full, I start to get excited.  I start combing through old magazines, surfing through the internet.   I know that I will be hitting a flea market very soon!   I love going.   Even if I do not find anything, I feel it is great way to spend some leisure time.

So with change in a little purse (flea market find), I hit my first flea market of the year.  One thing I always look for is linens.  I am in search for anything vintage.  On this trip, I did not find anything.  Oh, but I found so real good stuff!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The best part is I only spent about $12!  Awesome right?

First the houses.   I have been admiring these houses for a long time.  I saw them first in Holland years ago in the lovely town of Delft.   They were out of my price range.  So I took a picture.  A couple of years ago I started to see them at flea markets.  Even though they were cheaper than the first sighting, they were range between $20 to $30 a piece.  I bought all three for $6.  Yep!  I even asked the lady if she knew what they were.  She told me they were her mother’s and she just wanted to get rid of them.  I gave her the money and walked away….happy.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Now they have found a home where they are appreciated in our breakfast room.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Next, the Demi johns.  I never knew what these were called until I started reading all these books set in Italy.  Now I am getting a collection.  The idea of taking them down to the local co-op and filling them with olive oil or wine is just wonderful.   I am ready to move to Italy!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Love the fact they were ‘wrapped’.  Nice detail.

Finally, more blue stuff.  That is what Hubby calls it.  I fell in love with this rustic crockery when I first saw them.  The fact that it was blue was not missed by me.  I do have a bunch of them in all shapes and sizes around the house.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Do you see a trash can?  I hope so because that is what it is now.  It is the trash can for our guest bathroom.  It is small and fits perfectly in that narrow room.

I know now I scored!  Plus, I did not make a dent in my ‘flea’ jar.   Summer and flea markets…good times ahead.

 

