Tags

, ,

Just like a lot of Americans,  I was glued to the TV yesterday.  Now since I did not want to watch it alone, I decided to go out with some friends to watch the World Cup.

Now, here is the fun,  I live in Germany and I am a proud American.  Dilemma?  Not really.  Germans take their soccer very seriously.  During this time, you will see German flags attached to cars, strange food items shaped as soccer balls or colored the colors of the German flag.  I love watching people come out to support their countryman.  It is fabulous!

After work I headed to an outdoor cafe with some people I work with.  Our plan was to sit in the back, eat dinner and watch the game.  On the menu you had two choices…brats or a hamburger.  Easy choice- hamburger.   Right now in Germany a lot of the towns will have the games on outside open air like. It is a great atmosphere.  We took our table..in the back.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

In the crowd there was one German dressed in a jean vest with white stars on it.  I could not figure him out.  The first half produced a very quiet crowd.  They studied their beers.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It was strange.  No one moved.  No one talked.  Then…. Germany scored.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The toasting began.  Singing started.  Laughter rang out.  Our table was keeping our fingers crossed for a goal.  It did not happen.

We had a great time, even with the lost.  Not sure who we play next but I will be waiting for a positive outcome.

 

Have a wonderful weekend!

