Tags

, ,

image

It is Friday again!  Isn’t it funny how that happens!

As you all know, running is my love.  However, you cannot survive on cardio alone.  This past year I have started lifting weights.  Not to get ripped (that is Amazing Daughter’s word), but to tone.  I have always been scared of weights.  I thought those were for men.

My tool of choice is the kettle ball.  I just love swinging that thing.  I hate it when I am doing my Russians though!  I have worked my way up to 20 lbs.  Not great, but I am okay with that.  My arms have always been a sore spot for me.  Let’s put it this way, I love cardis!  Though my lifting has toned my arms, I still have that part that heads south.  Go figure!

I do not lift weights for my legs.  I figure the running does the toning.  I am mostly trying to build upper body and tighten the abs.  It is not my favorite thing to do, but I see the value in spending time pumping iron.

What I find interesting about weight rooms are the mirrors.  The last thing I want to do is watch myself.  I have watched men and women alike grab their weights and move to the mirrors.  I, on the other hand, grab and move over to the side.

During my weekly workouts, I do four days of weights.  Two days arms and two days abs.  I save the weights for after my runs.  I will admit sometimes, I have to force myself to do it.

Bottom line, results are results.  I will never be ‘ripped’ and that is fine.  I do plan on toning this body as it slowly ages!

Happy V- Day everyone!

