Tags

, , , , ,

With my new job, a new home.  We LOVE our current home.  We will leave here kicking and screaming.  We knew that after having your dream home, everything else is relative.  With that in mind, this past weekend we went house hunting!

I love looking at houses!!!!  I have the ability to  really see the house and the possibilities.  That is my favorite part.

We will be moving to Bavaria.  It is a very friendly part of Germany.  Actually what is so cool about this move is the fact that Bavaria was our very first tour as a military couple.  It is where we ‘grew’ as a couple.  It is where our Amazing Daughter took her first steps.  For us, it is going home.

We did something that we have never done before, we went with a real estate agent.  Hubby and I have always searched the local papers for houses.  This time due to time and because we are being ‘lazy’, we decide to consult the expert!  I am so glad we did,  she was so much fun.  She probably thought we were odd though.  She sent us a questionnaire about what we wanted in a house.  All good agents do so.  Hubby and I do not like to limit ourselves.  We are pretty easy-going!  Of course there are things that we will not compromise on.  Things like a biggish kitchen, double sinks in the bathroom (the man does not like to share!!) and an outdoor area.  It is kind of strange because we know when we have found our place.

Our real estate lady slated for us to look at five different places.  Lots of fun!  A few fun facts about looking for houses in a Germany…

1.  They usually do not come with light fixtures.

2. Closets are, well nonexistent!

3. They usually take their kitchens with them…

When in Rome…

So here is Hubby and I going through this move thing for the fourth time in ten years, we are pros!  Our first house on Saturday was very modern and yes, I will admit pretty cool.  I loved the simple lines.  I did not like the small spaces.  Hubby said afterwards we might have to downsize.  I smiled.  Second house was one that was not finished.  I thought that was interesting.  The views in that house was amazing.  Fabulous fields.  However, it was also smallish.  I really like the ability to twirl in my kitchen.  That is really important to me!  House #2 did not allow for twirling!  The third house was wonderful.  It had that alpine ski lodge feel it.  It also had a lime green kitchen and very orange living room that they stated could not be painted.  Then we moved on to house number four…

We are not people who believe in ‘signs’.  Everything happens for a reason.  However, on Saturday morning the stars aligned with house number four.  The first indication was when we turned onto the street.  It just so happen to have the same name as the first apartment we had on our first overseas tour….(remember I said moving to Bavaria is like coming home!).  The second indication was  yard.  As soon as we pulled in we were in awe of the yard.  Lush green and very simple.

The house itself was only up on the market because the owner had just recently died while on vacation.  She had left the house and a brand new Mercedes-Benz convertible to her best friend’s granddaughter who happens to be 8…

When we walked into the house, I knew this was it.  Hubby had told me to have a poker face.  He made me practice on the way early Saturday morning.  There is a reason I really stink at playing poker…

We like history.  We like character.  This house embodied it all. The owner lived life.  It was obvious!!!!  She loved clocks and rugs.  She loved the 70s.  I was in love!!!

Don’t laugh but I want to show you some pictures.  I am really good at looking past the obvious.  I looked at each room and saw what it was going to be.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

First off, the most fabulous part of our new home…. The outdoor patio area.  We have a partly enclosed outdoor dining area.  Beautiful brick and stone work.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is the other side of it.  I know that we will be spending lots of weekends out with a fire blazing and music playing.  I cannot wait!

Now onto the rest of the house, you have to just imagine!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is the future master bedroom.  (They are packing things up.)

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Presently, there are two different shades of carpet.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

There is also three different wallpapers.  This is a wall that housed a massive piece of furniture.

Next our home office!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Red shag carpet anyone?

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Lovely wallpaper.

However, the best of the best is the ‘party room’!  Remember I said that the previous owner lived life.  They had a party room with a full bar and a small kitchen right next door!  What fun!

It was a little dark….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This a picture of the bar. (I had to have proof for Amazing Daughter!)

Here is the wallpaper in the party room.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It was on all four walls.  Can you imagine the good times that occurred in this room?

Here is the paint and border in the living and dining room.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I feel so honored to be moving into this home!   After talking with the parents of the landlord (remember she is 8), all the walls will be painted white.  All the floors will be wood.  The bar will be taken out.  Amazing Daughter was disappointed.

It will not be ready until 1 April.  We are okay with that.  We know that the end result will be a home that we are proud of and one that will be filled with love.  I cannot wait to show you the after!!!!!

Enjoy hump day!

