Tags

, , , ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Welcome back!  After a great weekend of relaxing and running, I am back to share more of our trip to the lovely city of Barcelona.

Today, it is more Gaudi.  The more I look at the photos the more I am becoming a huge fan! Gaudi’s most famous for the church, Sagrada Familia.  It is located in the Eixample district of Barcelona.  The church was finished after his death.  Gaudi was struck by a streetcar in Barcelona.  Sad, but his work speaks for itself. So sit back and enjoy!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Impressive is an understatement!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We thought it was pretty cool that a part of the church sports a Christmas tree out of stone.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Each part of the church had a story of its own.  We spent a lot of time walking around the perimeter enjoying the beauty.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This was very interesting to me.  I thought it was very odd.  There had to be a reason for it.  I stood there for about five minutes when it dawned on me..33. Jesus died at the age of 33.  Yes, I was pretty proud of myself!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Now, let’s go inside.  If you are a lover of stained glass like me, you will be in awe.  Honestly, for the first ten to fifteen minutes, I just stood there soaking it all in.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

As  I was snapping this shot, a little boy that was from England pointed to it and said to his father, “Look, Jesus with a parachute.”   I can see that….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The morning sun was so spectacular coming through the glass.  Knowing that Gaudi took his inspiration from the world of nature, it was not hard to picture the colors shining through.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This was a very moving morning.  My appreciation of nature has been rewritten.

Tomorrow part 4.  In the meantime, enjoy your Monday!

