Tags

, , , ,

Have you ever been just driving along talking and not really paying attention to the GPS?  The music is playing great music, you are taking in the scenery, and telling stories.  Then you look up and start thinking where am I?

On our weekend trip to the lovely Black Forest, that actually happened.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here we are.  Driving along in the Black Forest.  About this time I look up, Journey was blaring on the radio, and I ask where are we?  Hubby said on the road.  Not funny.  Our lady on the GPS is not even saying ‘recalculating’.  You know you are in trouble!

Hubby said let’s wait until we can pull off and figure it out.  That works.

Well, we pull off and I see a treasure!  A glass blowing place!  Hubby said why do I feel my pockets getting lighter?  I just smiled!

it was not just glass on display.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

These are carved out of wood!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Admittedly, I would not actually buy one but you have to admire the craftsmanship.  Amazing.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

As we were entering the glass blowing place, I saw these poles.  They were covered from head to toe with random pieces of glass.  Pretty cool of you ask me!

This was so fabulous.  The place had a demonstration going on.  Talk about luck!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The fires, ovens were hot.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Our guy was getting busy.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Oh yes, I was pretty close.  I did not want to miss anything.  He took it out of the oven and twirled it with a special tool.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

He added color and kept on twirling.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

After he finished, they moved to this station.  They were sanding it down.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

All the different wheels.  I tried several different times to get a great picture of him actually blowing the glass.  However, I was to busy watching.  Sorry!

I was just in awe.  As you know, I love colored glass.  I have never seen it from beginning to end before.  I have read a lot of books but to actually see it in person was a dream come true.

They had some pieces that were on display.  I could see why…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Nice!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

For wine… Only the grapes were colored.  Everything else was etched.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Oh, I wish they had this to purchase.  Lovely, isn’t it?

Sometimes getting lost is a good thing.  We just took it in stride.

Tomorrow I will show you the actual store.  I found some real treasures!

