Tags

, , ,

I am a lover of many things.  No surprise!  Plates are very high on my list of loves.  I started collecting plates about 18 years ago.  Mainly because when I went to my beloved flea markets I would find some of the most interesting examples of art.  Eighteen years ago, my pocketbook could only cough up art in the form of flea market treasures. Those round beauties intrigued me.  Yes, I love looking for art and beauty in the everyday items of life.  It is just a small treasure that I think we miss because we do not stop to smell the roses.

When I started my collection, I only looked for the loners.  I wanted each piece to stand alone.

In my lovely navy kitchen….yes, I will soon share my kitchen, I have used a couple of my favorite plates as accent pieces.  I would put a frame around them….actually I thought about it a couple of weeks ago…..

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

These two treasures are just bursting with color.  The bottom plate is my favorite.  Of course, all my plates have one thing in common- BLUE!  Can you tell it is my favorite color????  I just love how the navy walls makes everything pop.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This is an old pattern from Villeroy & Boch. The blue gingham border is perfect.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Simple marbling effect.  I like the non-threatening nature of this one.  It only needs blue and off white to make a statement.

Last but not least, my second favorite treasure….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Peacock!  I have an amazing artist friend who loves peacocks.  We live in two different places now.  However, when I look at this, I smile.  Great friends…..

A fun trend I stared a long time ago has brought our home color and a coziness that I know that I could not replace with items that are more expensive.  Nice isn’t it?

Enjoy your Thursday!

