Tags

,

Can I say that Sunday could not have been better for a nice run! Mid 50s and beautiful sun.  I have to  say that at the beginning of the race I was excited and I had to fight myself not to start off to fast.  I was proud of myself.  I felt really good throughout.  Great landscape, great music, and my head telling me to go.  I love when the locals get into the race.  We had belly dancers, musicians, and cheerleaders out along the route.  Who cannot help but get excited when you have that around you?  Mostly, I knew that the finish line would bring the faces that I love the most and the line that I wanted to cross.  Yes, I crossed with a smile.

I did not accomplish my dream goal.  However, my realistic goal was meet. (I always set two goals when I race!)  I cut my Paris time and set a new personal best.  I am okay with  knowing that there is always room for improvement.  Isn’t that what life is about- striving to get better?

I do have to say knowing how hard I pushed myself before and during this race, I am sore.  More so than I have been.  Nothing compares to my very first half marathon soreness though….  I feel like my left hip is out of whack.  However, nothing that a little yoga will not solve.

Overall, I am pleased with my performance.  I look forward to the next race.

I like knowing that for the next couple of months, I can focus on total body fitness.  Oh I will still run.  However, I will add more weights, ab work, yoga, and my squats.  Life is good!

Happy Monday!

