Tags

, , , , ,

One of the items on my summer to-do list was our guest bedroom.

It housed our Amazing Daughter’s childhood bed that we picked up at an antique flea market many moons ago.  It was a twin.  So the room was not very guest friendly!

Of course, I knew what I wanted to do and what I wanted it to look like.  All I needed was some time and a new bed!

Come in and see what you think!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I have always wanted sleigh bed.  I read recently that the are going out of style.  Don’t care!  The bedding was from Pottery Barn.  I waited and waited until it was put on sale and then I crossed my fingers that they still had a queen!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Closer look at the bedding.  Just added ivory sheets.  The pattern speaks volumes!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

On the table by the bed, books on wine are ready to peruse even into the night with the lamp.  I am thinking about adding a light blue ribbon around the top and bottom of the shade.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

German houses do not come with closets.  So wardrobes are a must.  I knew only a Bavarian painted one would work for me! (Did you notice the olive basket that I found a couple of weeks ago?)

Just look at the details….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

In one corner I put Abbey.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Abbey is a full size dress form I found about 3 years ago at the Metz flea market.  On the base of it, it has Paris, 1923 on it.  Pretty cool!   I went with some friends of mine.  We stayed overnight at a beautiful abbey right outside of Metz.  That is the short story of how she has become known as Abbey!  I threw one of my scarves on her for the contrast to the off white body.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

In the opposite corner, we had to do some thinking!  The ceiling is slated so height was a concern.  I added this chair.  I bought it at a thrift shop for one dollar.  Love the huge flowers on the pattern!  That is actually a real fox coat from the 60s.  It belonged to my mother-in-law.  She gave it to our Amazing Daughter.  Of course, Amazing Daughter will get it back…….  A standing sewing kit was included to bring the darker wood color from the bed.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Now every bedroom must have a dresser!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

A collection of handkerchiefs are held by a porcelain basket from our travels to Italy.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

In the middle of the dresser is this hand painted bowl I picked up in Greece.  The colors are a perfect match for the room!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Finally, opposite the bed is this.  I just love this picture.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

A field of sunflowers compliments of a local artist that we found in Florence, Italy about seven years ago.  I have not brought myself to buy curtains though.  I could not cover this up!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This view.  Imagine waking up to this every single morning…..

I am excited with the results.  I know that it will be used often!

Guest rooms should be comfy with some personality.  I think we did good!

