Tags

, , , ,

Our mini vacation was about seeing things we had not seen before and throw caution to the wind (This was me!  You will see why in a bit!). The two things we wanted to see no matter what was the gorge and the Zugspitz.  We decided to knock them both out in the first day.

The rain had stopped!  That was a good thing.  The sky was still not very summery though.  However, that would not stop us.

The Zugspitz is the tallest moutain in Germany.  It stands about 2966 meters high.  Pretty impressive.  You cannot just walk up there. (Well you could but we are not ready for that).  In order to get there you have to take a cable car.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is the entrance to the cable car.

Houston, we have a problem!

Confession time here.  I am deathly afraid of heights.  It is the looking down part that kills me.  Then my mind starts going ballistic.  You do not even want to know what goes through my head.

So you see the problem…. Hubby said we will stand in the middle of the cable car and he would let me know how close we are to the top.  I was to just concentrate on breathing.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This was the only shot I could take.  As you can tell, the sky was still cloudy.

There were several people in our cable car.  Even little people.  They seemed to be excited.  We also had a trio of German men that were part of the rescue/recovery unit that works the moutain on our car.  I was somewhat conforted by this fact.  Until I started thinking, did something happen?  I just decided to go back to focusing on breathing..

That cable car was fast.  Okay, faster than I thought it was going to be.  I was staring at the floor when I noticed there were these little holes.  Oh my goodness, breathe.  I was determined to get to the top of this mountain.

After a lifetime on the cable car and Hubby saying, “Great job”, we were there.  I was not thinking great job.  I was thinking, great, now we have to go back down.  Then I looked up.  I saw why they call Zugspitz the top of Germany.

See for yourself….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

In order to get over there, you had to do a little rock climbing.  I told Hubby he could have at it.  I planned on staying right in the middle of the platform.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This was as close to the edge as I was getting!

As you can imagine, it was chilly up there and snow was still on the ground.  However, it was not unbearable.  Maybe it was the crispness of the air that made you feel energetic, I do not know but it was just beautiful to look around.  Of course there was a biergarten at the top.  I have to say, I really thought about ordering a glass of wine (or the entire bottle) but I decided against that.  Hubby and I sat down and shared a slice of  apple strudel.  I personally thought I deserved every single bite!

We spent about 30 to 45 minutes at the top of Germany.  I staying in the middle, Hubby being the daring adventureous person he is really explored!  Then we headed down.

Yea!  Another cable car.  However, it only went down to a train station!  Yes a train station that is IN the Zugspitz.  Amazing.

We had some time to walk around as we waited for the train.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I SOOOOO see why this is here.  It is for people like me.  However, I like to think it is for people, like me, who just wanted to say thank you for giving us this beauty.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

On this pole are the different flags of the German states.  It was surrounded by snow and a little ice.

Our train came and we took the slow ride down to solid ground.  I appreciate Hubby holding my hand and his patience.  I am so glad we went.  Even though it was cloudy and we did not get a very good view, just being able to experience this remarkable sight was perfection at its best.

Tomorrow I will share our walk around a lake!

