Tags

, , ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Yes, it has been a while since I have done a cooking post.  Never fear, we have eaten and we have eaten good!

I have been itching to use this,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I finally ‘made’ the opportunity!  I was trying to finish off all my sweet potatoes from the winter ( I had 2 left).  While flipping through my favorite cookbook, Earthbound Cook, I found this yummy recipe!

Curried Garnet Yam Soup

Ingredients

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Veggie broth, olive oil, 2 sweet potatoes (YEA!!!), carrot, onions, garlic, curry

Chop and dice carrots, potatoes, and  onions.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Heat the oil then add the carrots and onion.  Cook until tender.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Then add the curry.  I threw in some cinnamon, cumin and allspice also.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Next throw in the potatoes and the veggie broth.  Bring it to a boil.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Once it boils, turn it down and let it simmer until the sweet potatoes are soft.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Doesn’t it look pretty????

While it was cooking, I decided to be creative with our salad.  I just simply added grapes, goat cheese and oranges with spinach leaves.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Now the sweet potatoes are tender.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Final step is to dump it in your food processor or use an immersion blender.  I do not have one of those.  I’m still in love with my food processor!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

To add  a little something extra, top with plain yogurt.  It adds a great taste!

Our soup and salad evening was fabulous.  I know that the soup tasted better because I used my new pot!

Curried Garnet Yam Soup

1 TBS olive oil

1 1/2 c diced yellow onion

1/3 c chopped carrot

1 TBS minced garlic

2 tsp curry power

2 lbs sweet potatoes, diced

4 c veggie broth

Optional:

Yogurt

1.  Heat the oil in a large pot, medium heat.  Add onions and carrots.  Cook until tender.

2.  Add seasoning and garlic.  Cook for about 2 minutes.

3.  Add potatoes and broth.  Cook until boiling.  Reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are soft.

4.  Puree the soup (food processor or immersion blender)

5.  Serve!  Add a little plain yogurt for grins!

Enjoy!