Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love baskets.  I like items to have many functions.   Baskets are all that and more. Any time I want to organize a space, I always think baskets.  They are like Wonder Woman in my house! Functional, fun, and multifaceted.  I also like to put things in my house that have meaning.  I do not like to purchase something without it having a story.

For example, when I was looking for a simply solution for my dirty kitchen towels, I went searching for a basket!  This basket was found on a shopping adventure in Metz, France.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

When I was looking for something to store Amazing Daughters keepsakes…. I repurposed this.  These are like the German version of a hope chest.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

All the treasures, that are in this brings tears of joy to my eyes.

Baskets are my solution in storing blankets.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

In the guest bedroom, I switch out duvet covers a couple of times a year.  This huge red basket is perfect for storage.  It also allows the cover to be part of the room.

While reading, or just conversing in our living room, we will sometimes throw a blanket to stay warm.  Instead of having to get them out of a cabinet in another room, I just rolled them up and put them in this. This was also found on my trip to Metz.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Not all of my baskets around the house are practical.  However, I have found uses for them all!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Case in point, this basket was actually a grape carrier for a worker collecting grapes from a vineyard.  Now it houses a speaker….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I just love this picnic basket.  It was given to my a while ago from a friend.  Inside it holds clippings from magazines and newspapers that I consider important.

Need a place to hold reading material in the bathroom?

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Covered!  The basket that holds the books was a gift from a friend who took a vacation to South Africa.  Love it because of the colors of reds and blues.  Of course who is without the laundry basket???

When Hubby and Amazing Daughter went on their road trip, I was quite excited when I found out that the route would be taking them through Charleston.  I have never been.  (Very sad about that…).  I asked for one thing from them.  You guessed it!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

A sweetgrass basket.  I have desired to have one in my collection for a very long time.  I have read so many books about the South and Charleston that I have done some serious research on the history, the process, and the styles of these pieces of art.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Hubby picked it out!!!  He did very good!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I just love the handles.  Now my mind is racing.  I have to find a use for it!  Currently, it is the holder of fruit.  However, I might change that!  Who knows!

What do you use baskets for?   Where to do you get them?

