Tags

, , , , , , ,

 Flea Market.  Two simple words that make my heart flutter.  I have spent hours upon hours strolling the crowded tables at these markets.  Most of the time I do not go with a shopping list.  And for me, that is huge!  I live by lists.  I like to just gaze into these treasures until I see something that catches my eye.  This is one of my happy moments.  The freedom to just stroll.  It does not bother me at all if I leave empty handed because I know there is another one next week somewhere! However, the last couple of weekends I have gone to these blessed markets with only one thing in mind.  I have not afforded myself the luxury of looking seriously at anything else.  I call that discipline.  I was on a mission.  It was an adventure.  I had to do this with Hubby was not with me.  He is not one to haggle.  I LOVE it!  Plus when it comes to things that go in the house, his usual response is if you like it….

So my mission was to find carpets and runners for a couple of rooms in the house. 

I had my guidelines:

1.  Stay within my budget.

2.  Do not settle.

3.  Unique only

4.  Handmade

5.  Had to have reds, blues, and khaki

6.  2 LARGE rugs for master bedroom and guest bedroom

7.  2 runners for living room

8.  Stay within my budget.

How did I do???

I meet 7 out of the 8 guidelines!  The only one that I did not accomplish was number 7.  I have only found 1 runner.

 Let’s look at my treasures!  Master Bedroom 

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

For the master bedroom I was looking for something was very different.  When I saw this carpet, I knew it was the one.  It looks like tiles!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I love the little ‘scenes’ . 

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The carpet had my reds, blues, and khakis. 

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I did have to really haggle on this one.  I even walked away twice.  The guy followed me around and finally agreed to my price.  Not bad!  It is a perfect fit in our bedroom. 

Guest bedroom!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I really LOVED this one!  I actually thought about putting this one in the master bedroom.  However, I know I made the correct choice!  This one is HUGE.  It is more worn than the other carpet I bought.  But I’m okay with that.  I like that it has had a past life.  In my book, it adds to the flavor of my room.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Up close and personal. 

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It has that  tribal feel to me. 

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Of course, it has right colors.  The colors are beautifully and soothing on top of the honey wood floors!

Living Room Runner

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Nice right!!!  It compliments my already existing carpet wonderfully!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Right colors, size…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

and the right price!

The first two carpets, I bought from the same dealer.  The ‘dance’ with him was fun.  I was steadfast in my amount. 

I still have another runner to find.  I will continue to look for one.  Again, I will not settle.  As with all things in my house, it has to speak to me!

There is always another flea market!!!!!

