Tags

, , ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

As you know I’m home alone.   For the past week, I have been taking it easy when it come to cooking.  If I feel like it, great.  If I don’t, great.  Last week I was going to make a stir fry with broccoli and bell peppers.  I decided I would just eat them raw.  No cooking required!

However, this weekend I wanted to make something that would last.  Something simple.  Something  special just for me!  Something that Hubby does not really like.  I went through my trusty recipe basket.  I knew within seconds what I was looking for.  When I found it, I smiled!

Garlic-Basil Tortellini Soup

(Please forgive me for not remembering where I found this recipe!!!!  I have had it for years.)

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The goods- garlic cloves, organic kidney beans, cheese tortellini, chicken broth, paper, parm. cheese, and the invisible basil.  You will see the basil later!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Anytime I get to use this, I get excited.  This garlic press is one of my favorite toys in the kitchen!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Just love garlic!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Saute in a little butter.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Add broth, basil, and pepper.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

After the broth comes to a boil, add the tortellini.  Let it cook for about 5 minutes.  The tortellini will float to the top when ready.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Add the beans.  Cook until the beans are done.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Top with  cheese and serve!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I love this pic!  The steam was interfering with the lens!

I treated myself to an Italian red and enjoyed my meal with my movie tremendously!

Garlic-Basil Tortellini Soup

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp butter

28 oz chicken broth

2 1/2 c frozen cheese tortellini

1 can kidney beans

1/4 tsp pepper

1/3 c. minced basil

Parmesan cheese

1.  In a large saucepan, saute garlic in butter until tender.

2.  Stir in broth, basil, and pepper.  Bring to a boil.

3.  Stir in tortellini.  Reduce heat, simmer until tortellini floats.

4.Add beans.  Let then be heated thoroughly.

5. Top with Parmesan cheese.

6.  Enjoy!

