Tags

, ,

Leaving me home alone is never a good idea.  It provides me a lot of time to ponder things.  That is what happened last week.

I’m a chicken when it comes to color in rooms.  I stepped on the ‘wild’ side when I bought a color resembling cafe mocha for the living room walls last summer.  Talk about living it up!  The last two homes we have lived in, everything was white.  That was because we have lived in rental houses owned by Germans.  And that was okay.

When we found this house and took in the pictures that were posted, I noticed color.  Yellows (they were BRIGHT), oranges.  So when we agreed to this adobe, we worked out that I would be able to paint.  I honestly thought about just painting everything white.  I hope that you are yawning.   We stepped into the paint store and started looking at shades of white.  However, I was drawn to ‘real’ colors.  I felt it was time.  Time to shed my whiteness.  Time to be BOLD!!!!  Can I tell you that I was shaking in my heels????

I decided to add color in my area- my office.  I wanted something that spoke to me.  Something that was… me.  Not girlie.  Not modern.  I had a lot of nots.  I needed some direction.  Some inspiration.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

As you know, I have this fascination with all things dishes.  I bought this years ago at a flea market.  I have never known what to do with it.  This is about as girlie as I get.  Sigh…  After weeks of flip flopping, I took a bold move.  I took the lid of the teapot into the local Obi (German version of Lowes).  I tried to match up the color.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This is what I came up with.  Karmin 7.  I was concerned about how dark the room would be.  But, white was a no go.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I got to work.  Every single roll got me more excited.  Maybe it was the paint fumes.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Don’t worry, everything was properly covered and taped.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It is dry now.  I have to say that I’m in love.  It is warm.  It is rich in texture.  What has surprised me the most is that over the years I have collected items, treasures that will go perfectly in my ‘new’ office.

On Thursday, I will show you the finished product.  I have finally created a ‘me’ space.  I’m breaking out into a happy dance!!!

