Tags

, , , , , ,

Most kitchens have built in frigs.  Ours does not.  Most Germans go food shopping a couple of times a week.  They have small frigs.  We had the option of getting an American size one.  I said yes without giving it a second thought.

I do wish I could go to the market a couple of times a week all year round.  I live by the market in the summer when I’m off and I lead a life of pure leisure.

The eyesore of our frig is no more!  I spruced it up to make it more appealing.  Blue is my color.  I have never done this before, but when we moved in last summer I painted the walls a navy blue.  I have been smiling every since.  I think I will always want a blue kitchen!

So what do you do up against a blue wall to make the universal white of an appliance not such a disaster?  I think I found the answer…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Some of these items will look familiar to you!  The wood up against the walls just feels right to me.  Topping it off with a splash of red just gives it that spark.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

So what do you do with all of those wine corks?  In our house we put them in these jars.  I have no idea how many are in there.  I just know we have been filling it up for over a year.  If those corks could talk…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

You are scratching your head thinking, man I have seen that before!  You are correct.  I bought it last month at the Dahn basket factory.  Perfect place for it don’t you think?

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Another basket factory find. Chicken wire next to wood compliments each other.  I’m sure they are good friends by now.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I just love this bread cloth that I picked up in France.  The traditional dress of the Alsace region.  I pretend she waves at me each morning.

Any time you can take a normal everyday appliance and perk it up is delightful.  We make do with what we have.  I actually think it is kind of fun that way!

