Tags

, , , ,

I’m a traditional gal at heart. Nevertheless, give me the opportunity to look for/at  the ‘golden oldies’, I’m there!   I love to cruise through antique and thrift stores, flea markets, and consignment shops.   One of the items I always want to check out are the tablecloths.  The older the better.  At first, I thought if I only bought the white or off white ones that I was doing good.  I was sticking to the traditional gal part of me.   However, recently I am being drawn to more of the vintage fabrics.  Hmmm… what part of me is that?

I like to change tablecloths or runners about every three weeks or so.  It freshens up the tables and the rooms.  An instant makeover!

Here are some of my favorite vintage clothes that I have picked up recently.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This is currently donning our kitchen table.  The colors, the shapes of the items on the shelves, and the German words are a winning combo for me!

Closer look.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is another one.  It has those 70’s kitchen colors in it!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It is a favorite in the Autumn months.

This next one I found at a thrift shop for $1.50.  It was blue and ’tile-like’. Yet it also reminds me of bandanas.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This is a perfect runner for Spring.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The flowers appear so graceful to me.  I really did iron this before the photo shoot!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is another wonderful Spring runner.  It is hand stitched.  Pretty.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Fiesta, anyone???  This was was in the 50 Euro cent bin at a flea market.  There are several of these hand painted guys all over.  Perfect for a Mexican buffet don’t you think??

Last but certainly not least, is this beauty.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This was a true treasure.  While walking through a consignment store in Belgium, this caught my eye.  It was hand stitched.  It is not the elegant traditional Belgium lace that you are use to.  It is thicker.  I cannot remember exactly what I paid for it but I do know it was under $20.  It is huge!  It adds a delicate formality to our dining room.

Don’t you love vintage?  They make us remember our past.  They give our homes a little zest and fun.

