Tags

, , ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This past weekend I was feeling good.  I just had an entire week off and I was feeling adventurous.  I wanted to attempt to make something I had never attempted before.

Most mornings Hubby and I will make smoothies, boil some eggs, or eat fruit.  It is Spring afterall.  We do not want to feel sluggish all morning.  So, I thought I would add some spice to our mornings by trying out a recipe I found from a new cookbook- granola.

I did feel I needed some 60s music, my Birkenstocks, and tie dyed t-shirt while cooking!  I will tell you already, I did good!  I impressed myself and that is very difficult to do.  I have already decided that I will be making some more this weekend and doubling it since it can be stored!

So without further ado…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here are the ingredients that were needed: Canola Oil, honey, wheat germ, almonds, rolled oats, cinnamon, and dried fruit.  I used apricots and cranberries.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Make the apricots bite size by cutting them.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Combine all dry ingredients.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Add the oil and honey.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Coat everything well.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Spread onto a pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes.  You have take them out every 10 minutes to ‘stir’.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Let cool.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Stir in apricots (cranberries or dried fruit of your choice!)

That was it!  It was so easy.  During the ten minute intervals, I cleaned and read.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is the apricot granola…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

and the cranberry granola.

We have had this over our yogurt a couple of times this week.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is the cookbook.  I bought this because I still have issues with portions.  This is ‘assisting’ my problem of cooking for an army!

Granola

1c dried apricots (or any dried fruit)

18 oz rolled oats

3/4 c sliced almonds

1/2 c wheat germ

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 TBS Canola Oil

1/3 c honey

1.  Heat oven to about 325.

2. Cut apricots in to bite size pieces

3. In a large bowl, mix all dried ingredients

4.  Add oil and honey. Mix well

5.  Spread onto a baking pan lined with foil.

6.  Bake in oven for 25 to 30 minutes.  At 10 minute intervals, ‘stir’ the granola so it will cook evenly.

7.  Take out after it is browned and let cool.

8.  Mix the dried fruit in.

This will store up to a month.  This recipe makes about 8 cups.

Like I said, I will be doing this again this weekend.  I might try another fruit!

Enjoy!

