Tags

, , , ,

As you know this week is my Spring Break.  Hubby and I had a day where we could go and explore.  We picked someplace close to home.

During early Spring in Germany, we experience a lot of rain.  We are use to it.  If you wait for a ‘perfect’ day, well…. you will be waiting a while.  Get the proper gear and go for it!  That is what we did.

We love history.  We love old buildings.  I guess we live in a great place for that!

We visited an old monastery in Maulbronn, Germany. Or as the Germans say a kloster.   Bare with me why I share a little history.  It was founded in 1147.  It is now an UNSESCO site, which is pretty cool.  I had to keep reminding myself that this abbey was built without machines.  The term man made was evident everywhere we looked!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Entrance ticket!!!  So worth the money!!!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is the entrance.  Pretty impressive!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I’m warning you now, I was very fascinated with doors.  For some strange reason, I took a lot of pictures of doors!  This was/is used to gain entry to the kloster grounds.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The abbey is surrounded by these beautiful old buildings.  I just fell in love!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Hello, abbey.  It still amazes me that these buildings were made by ‘hand’ and are still standing.

Let’s enter the abbey.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

When you walk along those stones, you cannot help but wonder who walked there.  What were they thinking.  Who were they.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Inside the church were these dark pews.  Here is what the ends looked like.  Incredible.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This is another room in the abbey.  The walls were huge.  I wanted to capture some of the paintings on the walls.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Same room but different side.  Loved the columns.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is better view of the ceiling.  I’m a sucker for hand painted anything.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We entered another room in the abbey.  The sun was shining through the windows for a very brief moment.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Closer look at the columns and beams.  After reading Pillars of the Earth, you have to appreciate the work and the engineering that it took to make this wonderful structure.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We found this intriguing.  A very deep crack in the pillar due to water.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

As we were leaving the abbey, I turned and saw this door.  Of course, I went over to see if I could get in.  Nope.  But I thought it was stunning.  The stone work, the cobblestones, the knobs….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

As I said, the abbey grounds had many old houses.  I just love the wood and stucco.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This was my favorite scene.  The buildings that represented life for the kloster connected by these lovely worn stairs.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Yes, another door.  But this one is different!  There are actually five openings.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I do not know if you can see, but hanging on the building is a witch on a broom.  Attached to the gorgeous red shutters, are brooms.  Pretty cool!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Final door!  Love the window box full of flowers.  The anticipation of growth is just tingling.

Hubby and I had a wonderful time walking around and appreciating the architecture of this place.  It was a wonderful way to spend an afternoon.

