Tags

, ,

You guessed it, yesterday was a day devoted to reading.  One of my favorite past times.

When I go to the library, I’m always looking for new authors.  I love reading different styles.  Kaye Gibbons is not a new author to me.  She is just one that I have not read in a while.  Charm for the Easy Life was a title that just kind of peaked my interest.  Then I opened the book and read this… “Stupidity in a woman is unfeminine.”  That sealed it for me!

Charm is about a family of women living in the South who make a life for themselves.  The grandmother, Charlie, is a self-made doctor.  She goes around and ministering to the members of the community.  Even though she does not have a formal education, she is always asked for advice or consulted.  She also makes sure that her daughter, Sophia, is well-educated.  The best part of the book is the conversation that the three main characters have about literature.  (I even made a list of they books read!  I have read a lot of them but not all!).  Sophia is a quick study on things that will make her life better.  She wants to have money and status.  However, she continues her love of books throughout the story.  Sophia does marry for money, Charlie is not happy, and is able to live the life that she has dreamed, for a while.  When Sophia has a daughter, Margaret, both mother and grandmother pour lessons into her.  Charlie takes her granddaughter around on calls through the county in North Carolina.  They read together.  They experience life together.

Charlie is the heart and soul of this book.  I loved her gritty, southern lady, no holes barred personality.  She stood up for herself, her family, and the people that she knew had a future.  She took life by the horns and rolled with it.  My kind of lady.  She never made any excuses or wallowed in the bad.

The backdrop of the book, 1900’s to the 1940’s, only highlighted the brilliance of what Charlie, Sophia, and Margaret’s life portrayed.

It is funny how one line of a book can you pull you in!  I loved every single word.

Thank you Kaye Gibbons!

