Tags

, , ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The joy of cooking is becoming an addiction to me.  The challenge to find a recipe that is healthy but savoring is paramount.  I have to say that even though I’m that rule follower, I am beginning to loosen up.  Shedding that tight skin of mine.  I do have to say that it is scary but at the same time very thrilling!

As you know, on Saturday evenings we like to sit down to a very nice dinner.  This week I  felt the need to have something Easterish.  We had made plans to enjoy the holiday with some friends the next day.  So, this was going to be our private celebration.  I even brought out the good china for the occasion!  More on that later…

Menu

Pork Tenderloin with Blueberry Sauce

Asparagus

Pepper Salad

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Starting off with some beautiful pieces of white meat.  Yes, I was thinking of the advertisements I have seen in magazines!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The ‘rub’ needed a chicken grilling blend, sea salt, and black pepper.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

See, nice and ‘rubbed’.  They are now ready for the oven.  I roasted them for about 25 minutes at around 400 F.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

While the pork was cooking, I started in on the blueberry sauce.  I measured out olive oil, honey, and thyme.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Chopped a medium size white onion.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Thawed out some frozen blueberries.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

And finally, the apple cider vinegar.  A shout out to this brand.  It is great stuff!

Next up was to saute the onions in olive oil. Then you add everything else and let it thicken.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Doesn’t that just look beautiful?  The combo of the onions, vinegar, and blueberries tickled my senses.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Watching it thicken… Nice, I might add!

Here is the pork..

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Yep, they smelled good also!

I boiled the asparagus.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Then, I arranged them on a platter as the ‘bed’ for the pork.  I simply added the blueberry sauce.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Okay, I need some work on presentation.  Give me credit for trying though!

While the pork was roasting and before I started on the sauce, I chopped the bell peppers.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

For this dinner I decided to pull out the fine china!  This is the china that we received for our wedding.  Sadly, I do not use it enough.  However, I have vowed to us it this Spring and Summer.  It is just to beautiful and special to just admire.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is a better look… FABULOUS!!!!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The meal was awesome.  The blueberry sauce was just the right combo of naturally sweet and ‘spicy’.  I will be keeping this recipe that I found on paleoplan.com.  Since hubby and I usually only eat meat on weekends, this was a great treat.  Served with a chilled German Riesling, we had a perfect meal and a wonderful conversation.

Pork Tenderloin with Blueberry Sauce

1- 1/4 lb pork tenderloin ( since I was only serving two I just bought pork tenderloin cutlets)

2 tsp Mrs. Dash chicken Grilling Blend seasoning

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 TBSP olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

1 1/2 c frozen blueberries, thawed

1/4 c apple cider vinegar

1 tsp raw honey

1/2 tsp thyme

Directions:

1.  Heat oven to 400 F.

2.  Rub pork with Mrs. Dash seasoning, sea salt, pepper.  Place ina pan and roast for 25 minutes.

3.  Saute onion in olive oil until tender.  Add blueberries, vinegar, honey, thyme.  Cook until thickened.

4.  Drizzle on top of pork.

Here is to cooking just great meals and bringing out that china that you just love to look at!

 

