Tags

, ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Hubby and I are not diet people.  We just like to eat healthy.  I recent weeks (I know I am very slow…) I have hear a lot about the paleo diet.  I wanted to know what it was.  I did some research.  I decided to try a couple of recipes from their website.  Here is one…

Stir-Fry Beef with Veggies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Olive/canola oil and red wine

simplydaises

simplydaises

12 oz sirloin steak

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Garlic

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

“wedged” onions

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Beautiful red pepper

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Chopped carrots

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Chopped celery

Now the cooking part!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

In skillet combine half of the wine and all of the oils…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Add steak and garlic.  Cook until brown. Set beef aside.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Add veggies.  Saute!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Add rest of red wine.  I added the steak back so I could mix well.  I wanted the juices and the flavors to mingle.  The recipe did not call for this!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Doesn’t it look great!  Love the different colors and textures.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It was excellent!  This is a recipe I will keep.  It was very easy and was not time consuming.  It did call for mushrooms.  However, Hubby is not a fan.  I just added more carrots.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We had this Tempranillo and Cab wine.  It was bold and rich.  I’m thinking that wine is not part of the paleo….

Verdict:  Hubby loved it!  I did also.  I would like to try it with tofu though!

Stir-fried Beef with Veggies

12 oz boneless sirloin steak

2 tbsp canola/olive oil mixture

1 clove garlic

1/4 c red wine

1 onion cut into wedges

1 red pepper, seeded and cut into strips

2 celery stalks, chopped

4 oz chopped carrots

4 oz sliced mushrooms

**  I doubled the carrots and omitted the mushrooms

Saute the beef in half of the wine and oil with garlic.  Cook until beef is brown.  Remove from skillet.  Saute the veggies until tender.  Add reminder of red wine.  Add mushrooms (if used).  Combine the veggies with beef, cook a little longer.  Enjoy!

