Tags

, , ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

During the race weekend, we had Saturday to spend the way we wanted.  We have been to Paris several times.  Our goal was to see something that we have not seen.  Hubby wanted to go see Jim Morrison’s grave.  Amazing Daughter and I saw that on a trip we took there.  But I was game.  Then Hubby changed his mind.  Next it was the catacombs.  Cool.

However, at the end of last week we had been nursing the beginnings of colds.  We were congested, coughing, etc…  So we thought it would be best if we went somewhere indoors to share…  That settled it.  The Louvre.  I love museums.  Especially art museums.  Every time we have been to Paris we go to the Louvre.  Every time we will go to Paris we will see the Louvre.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

My favorite artist is Vermeer.  Think Girl with the Pearl Earring.  When we travel, I check out the art museums.  If they have a Vermeer that is our first stop.  I do not know what it is about his paintings but I’m amazed, intrigued.  He has this way with the canvas that brings the everyday into our world.  I have two posters of his paintings hanging in our house.

So first stop of the Louvre was the top floor of Flemish, Dutch paintings.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The Lace Maker

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The Astronomer

Next up Hubby said let’s go see Mona.  So down we went.  Before you get into the gallery that houses Mona you see this beauty.  You just have to stand and admire.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Every single time that we have come this is what we see…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

You can wait for hours.  However, it was not that bad on Saturday.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This is very sad.  But as I was enjoying the smile, I wondered what do you put on the opposite wall that holds the world’s most famous painting?  Well… this!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This was huge.  It was also amazing.  For the first time, I stood and just appreciated.

Next stop was Napoleon’s apartment.  This little guy lived large.  Here is his formal dining room.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is something else I found interesting.  This is a crystal make up table.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I do not know about you but I would be a little concerned about using this on a daily basis.

After that we headed down to a wing that we have never been to before, the Islamic Art wing.  I love Islamic Art.  We have been to Turkey and Egypt.  We hope to travel more in that region soon.  The art is very simple.  Beautiful.  Maybe it is the floral dominance in work or maybe it is the blues they use.  I do not know.  I find it marvelous.

Here are some of my favorites from the wing.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We ended up buying a book of the wing.  It is now on my coffee table in the TV room.  I have a dream/desire of having art books on all of our coffee tables.  I was just working on the collection!

We had an amazing time in this beautiful place.  It was a great way to spend a Saturday.  We stayed warm and protected our throats and chest.

I cannot wait to return!

