Tags

, ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

A couple of months ago, when someone asked if I would like to run the Paris Half Marathon I said why not!  Being that I’m a very visual person, I was thinking cobblestone, cafes, and elegance.  The reality of the run was even better!

We arrived late Friday night.  We checked in and found our bed.  We got up early ate breakfast and went to go pick up the bib.  I have to say that they had their act together!  It was easy and actually fun.  We did crack up because apparently we did not get the memo that picking up the bib was suppose to be part of the training plan…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Picking up the bib…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This man was so helpful.  He asked me where I was from and I told him Germany.  He said that I did not sound European.  I told him I am originally from Texas.  He said home of JR but he is no longer.  I smiled.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Foreshadowing…. Who knew that it was important to take so many pictures of this occasion!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

That is me!!  I got a shirt and a hand towel to boot!  I’m thinking yoga wardrobe!

Afterwards, we had planned to go see the catacombs but since we were both fighting of colds, congestion and sore throats we punted and made the ‘sacrifice’ to spend the day at the Louvre.  I know, I know….  We went to parts of the Louvre that we have not been to before.  More on that tomorrow!

For dinner we loaded up on carbs and headed back to the hotel for an early night!

Race day!  If you could have had a conversation with God about weather conditions beforehand, you would not have done much better!  I was expecting freezing weather with sun coming up later.  It was just beautiful.  What a day it was!!!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Don’t you love the ‘sexy’ keep warm gear?  We ditch them before the start of the race.  Yes that was sun in the background!!!!

Heading to the metro we encountered a lot of spandex.  We just followed!  I have never ran in a race with that many people before.  They said there were over 40,000 runners!  WOW!!!!  I was in the slow group.  So we were the last to go.  It was a very festive atmosphere beforehand.  People were joking, singing, and dancing.  I saw some things that I thought I would never see!  It was the perfect way to spend the wait time.

The race started at 10.  However, we did not to the starting line until 1107.  By that time, I was ready to run.  After the first kilometer people started weeding out.  I lost the people I was with!  All along the route there were bands playing.  People shouting, cheering.  You were energized.  How could you not be!  We passed the Bastille, Notre Dame, and ran along the Seine River.  All while the sun was out.  Shining gloriously!

The other memo I did not get was that I needed to ‘chill’.  When I run, well, I run.  There were runners that were stopping to take pictures.  Laughing and shaking hands with the crowd.  I was having just as much fun as they were without the cameras.  I basically smiled the entire way.  I was feeling good!  Maybe next year I will bring along my camera.

I was very congested during the run.  I was having coughing fits.  I sucked on cough drops and left a lot of DNA on the streets….

I did wish I had some money though.  I ran pass two Starbucks.  I could have gone in and order an iced soy chai latte…. Maybe next time!

Before I knew it, I saw the 15 km sign.  I thought cool, only 6.1 k left.  It did seem like I was in the ‘zone’ the entire time.  I did have one hiccup.  About 19km my hip started to hurt.  Shooting pain like…  I have never had that before.  I slowed my pace for about a kilometer and said the heck with this, and finished strong!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We received metals upon completion.  I will just hang it with the others!

My time was a personal best!  I was very happy when I crossed the finished line.  It is the best feeling.  Afterward, I was hungry!

After a nice lunch we headed to the train station and home.

What a way to spend a Sunday.

