Tags

, ,

Over the weekend I had the pleasure to go see a community theater production of one of the greatest American novels written.  Since I knew it coming and would be planning on seeing it, I reread the book a couple of months ago.  To Kill A Mockingbird was a one hit wonder for Harper Lee.  Man, I wish she would have found her author’s pen a couple of more times.  I think it is strange in a small world sort of way that she was great friends with Truman Capote.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I’m  glad I did not read this book when I was pregnant.  Amazing Daughter would have been Harper or Scout.  I have been thinking back to growing up and visiting the South.  My, how some things have changed and my how they have not.

Scout is one of those characters that I can relate too.  Her curiosity.  Her quest of knowledge and understanding.  Her tomboyish.  Then we have Atticus.  A man before his time.  A character that is good.  Moral.  Compassionate.  A small town man just trying to live a life that means something.

This book provides food for thought.  Take these quotes.

“That boy is your company. And if he wants to eat up that tablecloth, you let him, you hear?”

Lesson:  Entertaining is not a selfish endeavor.

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view…”

Lesson: Judge not.

“The one place where a man ought to get a square deal is in a courtroom, be he any color of the rainbow, but people have a way of carrying their resentments right into a jury box. As you grow older, you’ll see white men cheat black men every day of your life, but let me tell you something and don’t you forget it – whenever a white man does that to a black man, no matter who he is, how rich he is, or how fine a family he comes from, that white man is trash.”

Lesson:  Treat others how you would want them to treat you.  The Golden Rule.

Community theater is a wonderful experience.  It is not Broadway or the West End in London, obviously.  It is just amateurs living a dream!  I for one love to watch the pursuit of that dream!

Love a good evening of theater!

