Tags

, , ,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Yes it that time again!!!  I just love Wednesday.  Hubby has been wonderful in his support of my ‘projects’.  I wanted to cook something that would put a smile on his face.  I knew one dish that would do that.  I will go ahead and tell you it is not healthy one.  But…. OH IS IT GOOD!!!

Hubby and I met at college.  There was one place that we went to that was ‘fancy’.  I guess you can call it ‘fancy’ on a college budget…  They served this dish called King Ranch Chicken.  Which was appropriate since the King Ranch was basically the other side of this small college town.

I found out what they did to make this.  I even tried to make the ‘fancy’ way but for a couple that was on a strict budget, I found a more wallet friendly way to make this dish.

So…. King Ranch Chicken with Avocado Salad!!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The focal ingredient chicken.  Since it was just Hubby and I, I just cooked two breasts.  Boil until done.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

While the chicken was cooking, I grated some cheese.  If you have not tried this brand, you are missing out!!!  Go organic whenever possible!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Chop chicken.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Mix together cream of mushroom soup, salsa, and a soup can full of milk.  That is what I use when I cook 3 to 4 chicken breasts.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Heat over medium heat.

Now it is time to put it all together.

First layer:

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Use the chips to line the bottom of a casserole dish.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Add the chicken.

simplydaises

simplydaises

Then add the cream of mushroom mixture.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Top with cheese.  Hubby loves cheese!  Cook at 300 for about 30 minutes.

While that was cooking, I made Avocado Salad.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Two avocados, two tomatoes, one red onion, and goat cheese.  Just chop.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It is so colorful!!  And delicious!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

And the King Ranch Chicken is done.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We paired it with a Riesling.  I know white wine in the winter…. but we did have chicken!

The wine was amazing!!!  We will be getting some more.  Hubby wanted to make sure that I plugged the wine.  He took this picture!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It is a German Riesling- Unplugged.  Great with the meal!

King Ranch Chicken

1lb chicken breasts

1 can Cream of Mushroom soup

1/2 c Salsa

1 can (Cream of Mushroom soup) of milk

Cheddar Cheese

Tortilla Chips

1.  Boil chicken.  Chop when done.

2.  Cook Cream of Mushroom soup, salsa, and milk together over medium heat

3. Grate cheese

4. Layer- chips, chicken, cream of mushroom mixture, and cheese

5.  Cook at 300 for about 30 minutes

Enjoy!

