Tags

, ,

This was actually a lot of fun! Being able to take an idea or in this case, ideas and watch them come alive was exciting.   During the process, realizing that something else will actually work better or you change your mind altogether was okay.  I laughed.  I was frustrated a couple of times…. I smiled a lot.  It was great!

So remember my inspiration….

thedesigninspirationalist.wordpress.com

thedesigninspirationalist.wordpress.com

and…

tumblr.com

tumblr.com

I was able to combine  the two!  When I saw the picture with the huge mirrors, that got me thinking.  When we were moving into the only house we have owned, a neighbor was moving out.  She had these two huge mirrors that she did not want anymore.  She was going to take them to the dump.  I asked if I could take them off her hands.  Needless to say, they became mine!  The funny thing is I have never used them.  So for about 15 years, they have been packed up from our many moves.  Well, no more!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Doesn’t it look great!  I was very happy with the outcome.  The walls were painted a ‘medium yellow’ color before.  They are now a soft white.  I knew I needed to go light because it just seems like a dark place.  The muted white walls opened up the space. I realize a lot of the reason that it seems so dark is because of the light fixture that we have.  However, I love the fixture and so I worked around it!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The combination of the bench and the mirror is very simplistic.  That is what I was going for. Also, the light fixture reflects off the mirror.  It is quite beautiful!  The reason that I was delayed in posting our new entryway was because of the mirror.  It is very heavy.  Hubby had to go back to the hardware store three times before he found the right strength of wire to hang it.   On the side is a butter churn that I had put away.  In the churn is a pair of wooden ski poles that I bought, along with the skis, at a thrift shop in Poland.  I added two pillows on the bench to add a comfy feel.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Beautiful pillows!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is a better look at the butter churn and ski poles.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

At the end of the bench, I placed our wooden shoes from a trip to Holland.  The red ones were actually Amazing Daughter’s!  Boy, that was a long time ago….  The shoes just seem to belong there.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This was the trickiest part- what to do with this space.  My original plan was to make it an accent wall.  To do that I was going to first paint it a bold color, navy.  Then I changed my mind and went in search for some wallpaper.  I found some but I was sent the wrong color.  I really started thinking about the use of the wallpaper.  I was concerned that it would make the room to dark.  I ended up painting this area the same muted white.  In the end, I’m glad I did not paint the alcove navy or wallpaper it.  It has kept it clean and open.  Just for fun I added a basket of cloth balls.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

It adds some color to the space.

Overall, I am very pleased with our new entryway.  It is welcoming.  It is not fussy.  I just love the bench!!!!  And I have finally used my mirror!

One last look…

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Thank you for your patience!

So what do you think?

