Tags

Foreword:

If you are thinking, what the dining room, I wanted to see the entryway.  I do not blame you!  We need to hang one more thing.  We will be hitting the store right after work today.  So bear with me….  Think of it this way… you get to tour our dining room!!

Aww… the dining room.  If there is one room in our house that is about as perfect as it will get it is this room.  We spend a lot of time in here.  None of the furniture matches.  Tokens of our travels are displayed.  Conversations, great food, and great wine are shared here.  It is perfection.  It is the focal point of our dinner parties, holiday meals, family celebrations, and just plain supper.  It looks good in heels and sock feet!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I wanted an old world feel to the room.  The walls are painted Cafe Mocha.  The curtains are wonderful.  I am not a curtain person.  They literally have to reach out and grab me before I will even turn their way.  I love light filled rooms.  The curtains are actually from Pottery Barn.  I bought them about 5 years ago when they were on sale.  In every single house we will live in, they will be there.  I love them that much!

Just like in our living room (see post on Setting the Scene and The Whole Scene), I divided the room into displays.

The table is a Belgium farmhouse table.  It was our first big purchase when we moved back to Europe.  One of the best ones we have made!!!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Display 1 (Hutch)-  I found this at a thrift shop a while ago.  It was originally Amazing Daughter’s wardrobe.  But after we found something more appropriate, I took it over.  The glass doors are clear depression glass.  When I bought it, the glass was covered with contact paper.  Through elbow grease and a lot of singing (I did the singing…) it cleaned up good!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I do not know why I feel like I have to put something on top of a piece of furniture, but I do.  On one side is wicker milk basket that I have put old glass bottles in.  On the other side are 2 blue glass vases, a pitcher that was a gift from a co-worker years ago (She knew that I liked pitchers!) and a wooden crate.  Leaning on that crate is a wreath of red berries.  I put it there for Christmas, but I liked it there so much I kept it!  I will probably take it down after February!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This little goodie is tucked on the other side of the hutch.  Again, this was a parting gift from some people I worked with a while ago.  It is very special because they each signed the lid.  Priceless.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Off to the side of the hutch I have this lantern hanging from the ceiling.  If anything shouts old world feel this is it!  I bought this in Egypt.  The texture and the patina of it spoke to me.  (Try going through an Egyptian airport with this thing…)

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Display 2 (buffet)-  Our buffet is actually suppose to be a sofa table.  I never looked at as a sofa table.  Funny how that happens!  The two pieces of luggage under the table just seem to fit.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This is a bowl that I found on our first trip to Turkey.  It is the Turkish version of the Tree of Life.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This tea tray is a recent find on our last trip to Turkey.  I will be moving it into the kitchen for my tea station in March.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I love tapestries.  I cannot imagine the work that goes into one.  They are a woven portrait.  This one was picked up in Belgium.  It was on a discount table because the shop owner said it was defective.  Looked pretty good to me!

Finally, to add some whimsy, I added some fun stuff!  As I stated before, I love light.  Preferable, natural light.  There is just something radiant about natural light shining through stained glass.  I found this old stained glass window one time when I went to Rimbach (see post of Road Trip).  I have 4 of them around the house.  When the sun shines through it is like beams of light dancing on the floor.  Talk about happy!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

And the other piece I have in the dining room for fun is this….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

This came from Greece.  It is called a bouzouki.  In otherwords, it is a Greek guitar.  We love to listen to all kinds of music.

As I said, nothing matches, but it all goes together.  Everything just sprinkles come on in and relax as we enjoy.

See why this is my favorite room in the house!

