Dear Jane,

                  Oh, the influence you have had over me.  I did not discover you until my senior year in high school when I had to read, compare, and analyze two of your beloved novels.  I was star struck.  I was taken out of this world and placed in yours.  I have never been the same.

                Your words, your style, your world became mine.  I wanted to walk the streets of Bath.  I wanted to be captivated with the grounds of Longbourn and Pemberley.  I cried with Eliza, Jane, Fanny, and Catherine.  I agonized with Emma and Lizzy.  I really wanted to just slap Lydia and Maria. I wanted to ‘tease’ Mr. Collins and stand up to Lady Catherine de Bourgh.  I wanted to meet my Mr. Darcy.   

                You changed reading into literature for me.  You opened up my mind to explore the beauty of other cultures and societies. You taught me to be confident in who I am and strong in my convictions.  If you have done this for me, I cannot imagine what you have done to others.

                I will be forever grateful to you.

                                                                                                                                                                Sincerely,

                                                                                                                                                                The Daisy

pridenovel

Did you know that this week is the 200th anniversary of Pride and Prejudice?

At the end of every school year I look forward to the first week of summer vacation.  I plant myself on the sofa for 5 glorious days and read every single Jane Austen book in a very specific order.  I savor every single word that I have read over 22 times.  Each time, I am transplanted to Austen’s world of empire waist dresses, a time where women were finding their own way in the world, balls, and individual pursuits.  It is my way to recharge from a long year and refresh myself for the adventures of the summer.  Around May, I walk into my office where I keep those treasured books ( I even have Pride and Prejudice in Greek!!!) just to touch the spines.  We know that we will soon become companions again.

My love for everything Jane Austen does not end there!  I have every single movie that was made from her novels.  The good, the bad, and the ugly!  And movies that were made based on her novels.  LOVE Jane Austen Book Club!  I recently read A Jane Austen Education: How Six Novels Taught Me About Love, Friendship, and the Things That Really Matter by William Deresiewicz.  Amazing!!!!

In honor of this awesome event, I wanted to share my ratings of her novels from least to favorite!  Remember this is just my opinion!

7. Lady Susan

6. Northanger Abbey

5. Mansfield Park

4. Emma

3. Sense and Sensibility

2. Persuasion

And my all time favorite book…. Yep! You guessed it!

Pride and Prejudice!

What is your favorite Jane Austen??

