Tags

,

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here we are again!!  Do you have  cravings for something even though you know it is out of season?  I hope I am not the only one!

Recently we made lasagne for dinner.  I immediately thought of fresh baked bread generously covered with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and basil.  Who cares that it is January and the fact that tomatoes are not in season.  I decided this would be good practice in making bruschetta. The more I practiced, the better I would be come tomato season!

I am the type of person who follows a recipe.  I have a hard time going solo.  However, when it comes to making bruschetta, I wing it.  I figure it is all about portions.

So here is Bruschetta daisy style!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Tomatoes, olive oil, onions, garlic, french bread, and basil (not pictured)

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Chop onions (I always start off with two)

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I like to boil water then take the water off the stove.  Then I place the tomatoes in there in order to get the skins off.  While the tomatoes are getting ready to become skinless, I….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

get to use one of my favorite kitchen toys/tools!  I garlic press about 3 cloves.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Tomatoes are ready for skinning and chopping.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

If they were in season they would be bold and beautiful!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Next wash the basil.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Chop!

simply daisies

simply daisies

Next up it is the bread’s turn to be sliced.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I add a little olive oil and the bread over medium heat.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Now they are ready.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

I mix tomatoes, onions, garlic, basil, and some olive oil together.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

They do look beautiful!  I put them in the oven for about 8 to 10 minutes.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Up close….

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Yum!!!

Even though the tomatoes were out of season, they were pretty good as a starter with our lasagne.  However, I will be dreaming of bruschetta for the next couple of months… waiting for those tomatoes to become gorgeous!

Bruschetta

4 tomatoes (plum)

2 onions

3 cloves of garlic

basil leaves (fresh is better!)

olive oil

french bread

1.  Chop onions

2.  Boil water, when boiling take off stove and place the tomatoes in there for a couple of minutes.  The skins should just peel off.  Afterwards, chop up the tomatoes.

3. Chop garlic

4. Chop basil leaves

5. Combine onions, tomatoes, garlic, and basil.  Add olive oil- the amount is up to you!

6. Slice bread

7. Pour some olive oil into a skillet.  Heat on medium heat. Place bread in skillet and brown.

8. Top bread with tomato mixture

9. Place in the oven  (about 220 degrees) for about 8 to 10 minutes

10 Enjoy!

I will leave you as I’m dreaming of tomato season……

