Tags

,

Last week I showed you one of my favorite parts of my living room (see post on Setting the Scene). I thought that today I would show you the rest of the room.

Our living room is something like watching a dream come true. Before we moved into this house in July, we had owned the same sofa for over 20 years. It was SOOOOO ready for retirement. We had a slipcover over it for a reason….. I loved that sofa though. It was one of those 90s pieces with huge flowers on it. The cushions had been molded just right for reading. However, it had seen better days. So we left it behind when we moved!

Since we knew well in advance that we were moving and we knew that our sofa would be going to that sofa place in the sky, I began looking for a sofa. We wanted leather. End of story. It took oh about nine months, but we finally found a set that we both loved. At first I was worried that they were going to be to dark, but after viewing it every single day for the last six months, I’m in love.

Too much information??? Sorry! As I have stated before a home should be you. We have strove to have a comfortable, lived in adobe.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

We love the fireplace that centers the room!  At this time of year, it is well used!   The rug is a thrift store find.  It is the anchor for the room.  Cozy, warm, and relaxing was the aim for this room.  I envisioned a lot of reading, talking, and listening to music in here.  I could not have been happier with the end result!  Hubby and I enjoy lighting a fire, opening up a bottle of wine and share each end of the sofa as we read.  Great place to unwind!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Here is a closer look at the sofa.  I love pillows.  The shrunk behind it was bought on our first time in Germany. It houses our stereo.  Family photos and my collection of bells  are displayed.

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

Believe it or not, I found this plow on the side of a road!  I grabbed it and gave it a home.  The picture is the Egyptian version of the Tree of Life.  I bought it when we took Amazing Daughter there for her high school graduation.  There is just something about the Tree of Life that fascinates me.

simpledaisies

simpledaisies

Here is the other side of the room.  The loveseat is home of more pillows!  It was a beautiful sunny day!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

The cabinet is another thrift store find!  We use it to store our wine.  Underneath it we have a wooden box of our favorite Riesling.  Long gone…. We love art.  We have started to collect books from the art museums that we have gone to.  We should have done that a long time ago!

simplydaisies

simplydaisies

On this wall, I have one of favorite art posters.  It is The Artist’s Studio by Vermeer.  We saw the original in Vienna.  The two quilts in the basket were given to me by my grandmothers.  I proudly display them.  I can not imagine the time that went into those quilts or the memories that they hold.  For me, they are a reminder of two wonderful ladies that I got to know and cherish.

Well that is the whole scene of our living room.  Warm, cozy and us.

