Tags

,

DSCN1101  I am trying out a new title for my cooking section! I have not decided if I want to keep it!!! Please let me know what you think!

When I saw this in my favorite cookbook (see post on COOKBOOKS) I thought carrots for breakfast, really? I did not want to try it at first. Well, actually the second and third time I looked at the recipe I was not that excited either. But I was looking for something I could make and then store for breakfast all week. Hubby and I like to take breakfast with us during the week. Nothing like checking emails eating breakfast….

A couple of months ago, I bit the bullet and tried it. And let me just say that I have rethought my opinion on carrots for breakfast!

Oatmeal, Carrot, and Apple Breakfast Squares

simplydaisies

Oats, Wheat Flour, Flaxseed, Light Brown Sugar, Baking Soda & Powder, Cinnamon, Salt

DSCN1090

Grated Carrots and Apples

DSCN1091

Canola Oil, Buttermilk, Eggs

DSCN1093

Mixed all the above ingredients together (minus carrots & apples)

DSCN1094

Add carrots and apples

DSCN1095

Ready for the oven.  I threw some walnut pieces on top.

DSCN1096

Fresh from the oven!

DSCN1097

Yummy!  Ready to eat.

DSCN1099

They are thick.  See the steam rising???

DSCN1100

Cut and ready for the week!

Recipe

1 3/4 c rolled oats           1 1/2 c wheat flour

1/4 c flaxseed                    1 TBSP baking soda

1 TSP baking powder      2 TSP cinnamon

1/4 TSP salt                        1 1/4 packed light brown sugar

2/3 c canola oil                 2 eggs

1 1/2 buttermilk                1 1/2 c grated carrots

1 c grated peeled apples

1.  Heat oven to 350

2.  Mix together oats, flour, flaxseed, baking soda & powder, cinnamon, and salt

3.  Mix brown sugar and oil.  Add eggs and buttermilk

4.  Combine everything!   Including carrots and apples

5.  Sprinkle with walnuts if desired

6.  Cook for 45 minutes.  Cool and cut and eat!

Great stuff! Who knew that having carrots for breakfast could be so good!   Enjoy.

