Tags

I have just started getting serious about cookbooks.  I have several that I have referred to over the years.  I remember during the mid 90s when being Martha Stewart was considered to be the ultimate challenge.  I bought her Menus for Entertaining cookbook.

Image

I just knew that I was in high cotton!  At the time, hubby was in the military and deployed.  After our amazing daughter went to bed each evening, I read and reread that book!  I tried her recipes- some with great success and others, well, we will skip that.  But I know that was the watershed moment where I started becoming interested in cooking and equipping my cabinets with what was needed to entertaining.  I love dishes.  I will save that for another day, and oh, what a glorious day that will be…… (slap and moving on!).  I soon realized that Martha Stewart I was not, but that was okay with me.  Progressing at your own rate is what I’m all about!  So began my march into cooking and entertaining.

A couple of years ago I found this cookbook in the local public library.Image

I started in the salad chapter first.  After about 5 minutes and after I sticky noted basically the entire chapter, I knew that I had to read on.  I continued and tried a couple of the recipes.  The first two I tried were the Blueberry Muffins and Honey Bran Muffins.  To say they were delicious would not even be giving them justice!  The third recipe I tried was the Shrimp and Corn Chowder.  And darn if that was not just heavenly also!  I headed immediately to amazon.com to place my order.

Myra Goodman, the author, founded Earthbound Farm with her husband.  Her story is very interesting.  Mrs. Goodman and future husband lived on the East Coast and moved to California when they bought a house on about 2.5 acres.  They were not farmers but made a go of it and sold their veggies and herbs in a roadside stand.  Of course, as they say, the rest is history.  I just love stories like that.

In the cookbook, the author takes the time to explain the value of cooking from scratch and eating healthy.  Two ideas that are so vital in my way of thinking.  I have not tried every single recipe in the book, but I’m on my way!  My copy is well loved and well used.

I’m on the hunt for good quality cookbooks all the time.  I know I can surf the net, and I do, but there is just something about a book that enhances the cooking experience for me.  Finally, I’m ready to experience food and experience it with friends and family.

As I travel, I  have the pleasure of experiencing new dishes.  One of the best parts of traveling is trying the local cuisine!  That has turned my hunt for cookbooks international.

I have come to terms with not becoming the next Martha Stewart a long time ago.  However, that will not stop me from trying to making my kitchen into my personal haven.  Cookbooks will assist me in my mission!

