During the winter hubby and I become soup people.  Having something healthy,hearty and hot just seems right.  Over the years I have searched for recipes that fit the bill. 

Enter stage right our leading lady…..

Image

Butternut squash has become a winter staple at our house.  I buy a bunch at a farmer’s market and store them for use all winter.  It is comforting that have them readily available.  Last night for dinner we had butternut squash bisque.

Of course I gathered the ingredients.

Image

Butter and Canola Oil (sorry about the shadow, still learning the camera thing!)

Image

Chopped carrots and onions

Image

The leading lady herself

Image

Veggie broth

Image

and heavy cream

After the gathering, came cooking the onions in the butter and canola oil.

Image

Next I dumped the carrots, squash, and broth into the pot cooking until all the veggies were tender (about 20 minutes).

Image

Then came the fun part!!!!  Hubby bought this for our last anniversary.  It is so much fun to use.  I just love hitting the on button and everything just speeds on by!!!  Whatever did I do before??  Sorry for my digression…

Image

A thing of beauty! 

I poured this….

Image

into the food processor and watched in amazement.

Image

I added the cream.

Image

Finally, the soup is done!

Image

Served with a hearty shiraz wine and you have a perfect meal.  Hearty, healthy, and hot.

Butternut Squash Bisque

Ingredients:

1 TBSP butter               1 TBSP canola oil

1/2 c diced onion          3/4 c diced carrots

4 c peeled and cubed butternut squash          3 c. veggie broth

1/2 c heavy cream

Directions:

1.  Heat the oil and melt butter in a large pot over medium heat.  Cook and stir the onion in the butter and oil until tender.

2.  Add carrots, squash, veggie broth.  Season with salt, pepper if you want.  Cook until veggies are tender.

3.  Puree the veggie mixture in a food processor, blender.  Stir in cream.

4.  Enjoy!!!

This would also be wonderful by using pumpkin instead of butternut squash!

I am always looking for more options for butternut squash! 

Have a great Tuesday!

 

 

 

